The Goals of Yoga

There are numerous opinions on what the goal of Yoga may be, although generally they involve
some kind of union, either of a personal or a non-personal nature.
The goals of yoga are expressed differently in different traditions.
In Theistic Hinduism , yoga may be seen as a set of practices intended to bring people closer
to God - to help them achieve union with God.
In Hindu yoga the terms Self-Realization and god-Realization are used interchangeably, with
the underlying belief that the true nature of self, revealed through the practice of yoga, is of the
same nature as God
In Buddhism , which does not postulate a creator-type god, yoga may help people deepen their
wisdom, compassion, and insight.
In Western nations , where there is a strong emphasis on individualism, yoga practice may be
an extension of the search for meaning in self, and integration of the different aspects of being.
The ultimate goal of yoga is the attainment of liberation from worldly suffering and the cycle of
birth and death. Yoga entails mastery over the body, mind, and emotional self, and
transcendence of desire. It is said to lead gradually to knowledge of the true nature of reality.
The Yogi reaches an enlightened state where there is a cessation of thought and an experience
of blissful union. This union may be of the individual soul with the supreme Reality.
For the average person still far from enlightenment, yoga can be a way of increasing one's
spiritual awareness, or cultivating compassion and insight. While the history of yoga strongly
connects it with Hinduism, proponents claim that yoga is not a religion itself, but contains
practical steps which can benefit people of all religions, as well as those who do not consider
themselves religious.

Over the long history of yoga, different schools have emerged, and there are numerous
examples of subdivisions and synthesis. It is common to speak of each form of yoga as a "path"
to enlightenment. Thus, yoga may include love and devotion, selfless work, knowledge and
discernment, or an eight-limbed system of disciplines emphasizing meditation.

Although people associate yoga with only exercises or asanas as they are commonly called,
there are many different types of yoga.
The most popular type is Hatha Yoga. This type of yoga contains various types of asanas and
is beneficial in improving the body strength and flexibility.
You learn devotion and unconditional love for the divine by Bhakti Yoga .

Answer to your deeper questions like: who am I, Where do I come from, - come from Jnana
Yoga .
Control your mind and be free from worldly attachments by practicing Raja Yoga.
Kundalini Yoga releases the energy present in the chakras or energy centres in your body. By
teaching you deep breathing.
Tantric Yoga worships the feminine energy and teaches you to look at your body as a source
of divine energy. The Tantric practitioner seeks to use the divine power that flows through the
universe (including their own body) to attain purposeful goals. These goals may be spiritual,
material or both and practitioners consider the mystical guidance of a Guru imperative.
Karma yoga is based on the general understandings of karma and reincarnation (samsara). It
is believed that a man is born with certain Samskars (karma's), both positive and negative, from
his past lives which push him towards performing certain actions in his present one. This
process continues until the individual attains a zero balance, (no karma remains) wherein one
achieves liberation.
The practice of Karma Yoga in daily life makes an individual fit through action, meditation and
devotion to sharpen his reasoning, develop intuitive power of acquiring knowledge and to
transcend the mind itself